sea ware

12 Aug

Ruth Ware’s second novel takes place in the choppy Norwegian seas, aboard the maiden voyage of a luxury yacht,  and readers must uncover the whereabouts of THE WOMAN IN CABIN 10. we meet the passengers, wealthy Londoners, the yacht owners, and lucky travel writers at a dinner on its first night and then, lo and behold, with main protagonist, Lo Blacklock, the plot takes a deep dive into Hitchcock territory.

I liked the writing because it was definitely different from Ware’s first novel, IN A DARK, DARK WOOD when a bachelorette party goes awry like a murderous board game of CLUE.

both books are good stand alone mysteries.

in this book, I  could have done without the strange and continuous depictions of exhaustion and sleep and nausea and vomit. I am not sure I understood this plot device. the action opening the novel did not seem to connect in any way to the overall story, but did add an element of suspense I suppose. I think there were a few missing pieces thrown overboard as the story unraveled!

overall though it is a must read for a snowy afternoon, a rainy day, a morning commute. I really cannot give too much away because of the Hitchcockian themes.

learn more about Ruth Ware here

book bag it!

Leave a comment